What the panel ordered
Petition for Reconsideration granted; First Amended Findings and Award rescinded; matter returned to trial level for further proceedings.
Defendant sought reconsideration of the First Amended Findings and Award issued January 14, 2025, which the WCJ had issued. The WCJ recommended denial of the petition, but the Appeals Board granted reconsideration, rescinded the F&A, and returned the matter for further proceedings.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The WCJ issued an award on temporary disability and attorney's fees without findings of fact on these issues and precluded defendant from pursuing a credit for reimbursements to EDD, which was not raised for trial. The Appeals Board found the record incomplete and returned the matter for further proceedings.
From the decision · page 6Although applicant and defendant framed the issues of temporary disability indemnity and attorney's fees for trial, the WCJ issued no findings of fact as to these issues. Instead, the WCJ awarded applicant temporary disability indemnity in a manner which determined an issue neither raised nor submitted for decision: whether defendant may take a credit for any reimbursement payments it may have made to EDD.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
WCJ issued an award on temporary disability and attorney's fees without findings of fact on these issues and precluded defendant from pursuing a credit for reimbursements to EDD, which was not raised for trial.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This procedural deficiency led the Appeals Board to rescind the award and remand for further proceedings to ensure due process and a complete record.
From the decision · page 6Although applicant and defendant framed the issues of temporary disability indemnity and attorney's fees for trial, the WCJ issued no findings of fact as to these issues. Instead, the WCJ awarded applicant temporary disability indemnity in a manner which determined an issue neither raised nor submitted for decision: whether defendant may take a credit for any reimbursement payments it may have made to EDD.
Inconsistencies in Dr. Jindal's medical reports undermined the basis for terminating temporary disability benefits.
Favours Applicant prevailed
Supported the finding that the applicant was not at permanent and stationary status and remained temporarily disabled, justifying remand for further proceedings.
From the decision · page 3In this case, Applicant was similarly prejudiced by not receiving full TD benefits for an extended period of time. The inconsistencies in Dr. Jindal's reports upon which the termination of TD benefits was based were clearly evident, yet Defendant failed to investigate. In his report of 5/23/2023, Dr. Jindal found that the "Applicant has permanent work restrictions", and notes restrictions of no bending at the waist and no lifting and carrying more than 15 lbs. He also indicates that surgery in the form of an MP joint surgical intervention is anticipated in the near future, (Ex. D). However, 5 days later, in his report of 5/28/2023, although he says that the Applicant's symptoms are worsening, he also says that Applicant can now bend at the waist occasionally, and the lifting and carrying restrictions have increased to no more than 20 lbs., (Ex. E). These reports when viewed together do not
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Dr. Jindal's reports of 5/23/2023 and 5/28/2023 showed inconsistencies regarding applicant's permanent and stationary status and work restrictions, which did not support termination of temporary disability benefits.
The inconsistencies in Dr. Jindal's reports undermined the basis for terminating temporary disability benefits, supporting the remand for further proceedings.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Labor Code section 5909
Governs the timing and notice requirements for petitions for reconsideration.
From the decision · page 4I. Former Labor Code section 59091 provided that a petition for reconsideration was deemed
CCR Section 9785(a)(8)
Defines permanent and stationary status as maximal medical improvement, relevant to termination of temporary disability benefits.
From the decision · page 4comply with CCR Section 9785 (a) (8), "permanent and stationary status is the point where the employee has reached maximal medical improvement, meaning his or her condition is well stabilized and unlikely to change substantially in the next year with or without medical treatment."
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Inconsistencies in Dr. Jindal's medical reports regarding permanent and stationary status and work restrictions.
From the decision · page 3In this case, Applicant was similarly prejudiced by not receiving full TD benefits for an extended period of time. The inconsistencies in Dr. Jindal's reports upon which the termination of TD benefits was based were clearly evident, yet Defendant failed to investigate. In his report of 5/23/2023, Dr. Jindal found that the "Applicant has permanent work restrictions", and notes restrictions of no bending at the waist and no lifting and carrying more than 15 lbs. He also indicates that surgery in the form of an MP joint surgical intervention is anticipated in the near future, (Ex. D). However, 5 days later, in his report of 5/28/2023, although he says that the Applicant's symptoms are worsening, he also says that Applicant can now bend at the waist occasionally, and the lifting and carrying restrictions have increased to no more than 20 lbs., (Ex. E). These reports when viewed together do not
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.