What the panel ordered
The Appeals Board rescinded the Findings and Order of October 24, 2025, deferred the issue of preexisting permanent disability of the bilateral wrist/hands and right shoulder, and returned the matter to the trial level for further proceedings.p. 12
Applicant sought reconsideration of the Findings and Order issued on October 24, 2025, which denied her claim for Subsequent Injuries Benefits Trust Fund (SIBTF) benefits. The WCJ found injury arising out of employment and timely filing but denied preexisting permanent partial disability. The WCJ's decision was reconsidered by the Appeals Board.
This docket was decided more than once. Shown here is the latest released decision; we also hold January 22, 2026.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The WCJ erroneously concluded no preexisting permanent disability due to confusion of issues and lack of substantial evidence. The Appeals Board found the record unclear and deferred the issue for further development.
From the decision · page 11Minkstein’s reporting as to the issue of preexisting permanent disability does not constitute substantial medical evidence. (See Escobedo, supra.) Because the record suggests that applicant had a labor-disabling condition prior to her subsequent injury but is unclear as to whether and to what extent she had preexisting permanent disability of the bilateral hands/wrists and right shoulder, we conclude that the WCJ’s conclusion that applicant does not have preexisting permanent disability was in error. Accordingly, we will rescind the F&O.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Applicant had a labor-disabling restriction prior to the subsequent injury as evidenced by PQME Dr. Cortes's opinion that applicant missed work due to prior injuries in 1997 and 2002.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This fact supported deferral of the issue of preexisting permanent disability for further development.
From the decision · page 11Although not based upon contemporaneous medical records, PQME Dr. Cortes’s opinion in this regard is framed in terms of reasonable medical probability and based on pertinent facts and an adequate examination and history, and, therefore, is substantial evidence that applicant had a labor-disabling restriction prior to the subsequent injury. Because the record evidences that applicant had a labor-disabling restriction prior to the subsequent injury, the question before us is whether applicant had “a preexisting disability which either actually interfered with or would have actually interfered with any type of work activity at the time of subsequent injury.” (Franklin, supra, at p. 238.) In this regard, Dr. Minkstein opined that applicant had preexisting disability of the right wrist/hand, left wrist/hand, and right shoulder, but did not explain how, if at all, the clinical information he obtained supported his conclusions. (Ex. 2, Report of Dr. Minkstein, September 7, 2023, pp.
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Assigned 17% whole person impairment to right shoulder and bilateral wrists/hands but did not explain clinical basis or review prior medical records. Findings not credible and speculative.
Did not review medical records prior to subsequent injury or explain grounds for conclusions; findings lacked credibility and substantial evidence.
From the decision · page 11Minkstein’s reporting as to the issue of preexisting permanent disability does not constitute substantial medical evidence. (See Escobedo, supra.) Because the record suggests that applicant had a labor-disabling condition prior to her subsequent injury but is unclear as to whether and to what extent she had preexisting permanent disability of the bilateral hands/wrists and right shoulder, we conclude that the WCJ’s conclusion that applicant does not have preexisting permanent disability was in error. Accordingly, we will rescind the F&O.
Applicant had a prior history of right shoulder industrial injury with surgery and bilateral carpal tunnel surgery, with symptoms resolved. Found no evidence of preexisting condition for apportionment but noted applicant missed work due to prior injuries. Assigned 0% impairment to bilateral hands and 6% to right shoulder.
Opinion framed in reasonable medical probability, based on pertinent facts and adequate examination and history, constituting substantial evidence of labor-disabling restriction prior to subsequent injury.
From the decision · page 11Although not based upon contemporaneous medical records, PQME Dr. Cortes’s opinion in this regard is framed in terms of reasonable medical probability and based on pertinent facts and an adequate examination and history, and, therefore, is substantial evidence that applicant had a labor-disabling restriction prior to the subsequent injury. Because the record evidences that applicant had a labor-disabling restriction prior to the subsequent injury, the question before us is whether applicant had “a preexisting disability which either actually interfered with or would have actually interfered with any type of work activity at the time of subsequent injury.” (Franklin, supra, at p. 238.) In this regard, Dr. Minkstein opined that applicant had preexisting disability of the right wrist/hand, left wrist/hand, and right shoulder, but did not explain how, if at all, the clinical information he obtained supported his conclusions. (Ex. 2, Report of Dr. Minkstein, September 7, 2023, pp.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Escobedo, supra
To constitute substantial evidence, a medical opinion must be framed in terms of reasonable medical probability, not speculative, based on pertinent facts and adequate examination and history, and set forth reasoning in support of conclusions.
The Board found Dr. Cortes's opinion met this standard and Dr. Minkstein's did not.
From the decision · page 10whether it developed from a congenital, developmental, pathological, or traumatic source. (Franklin, supra, at p. 238; see Escobedo v. Marshalls, CNA Ins. Co., (2005) 70 Cal.Comp.Cases 604, 619 (citing Subsequent Injuries Fund v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. (Talcott) (1970) 2 Cal.3d 56, 62 [35 Cal.Comp.Cases 80].) The first question before us, then, is whether applicant presented substantial medical evidence of preexisting permanent disability under these authorities. (Todd, supra.) To constitute substantial evidence "… a medical opinion must be framed in terms of reasonable medical probability, it must not be speculative, it must be based on pertinent facts and on an adequate examination and history, and it must set forth reasoning in support of its conclusions." (Escobedo, supra.) "Medical opinion … fails to support the Board's findings if it is based on surmise, speculation, conjecture or guess." (Hegglin v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. (1971) 4 Cal. 3d 162, 169 [36 Cal.Comp.Cases 93, 97].) In this regard, the parties framed the issues for trial to include whether apportionment applies to the 35% or 5% threshold and whether applicant had preexisting permanent disability of unspecified body parts 2 instead of applying the Todd analytical framework. (Minutes of Hearing (Reporter), August 5, 2025, p.
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
PQME Dr. Cortes's opinion that applicant missed work due to bilateral hands/arms injury in 1997 and right shoulder injury in 2002
From the decision · page 102:14-17.) This framing confused the issues of apportionment with preexisting permanent disability, effectively precluding the WCJ from developing and evaluating the record of whether applicant had preexisting disability of the bilateral hands/wrists and right shoulder. Specifically, the framing led the WCJ to rely upon PQME Dr. Cortes’s apportionment opinion that there was “no evidence of any preexisting condition or pathology that would lead to apportionment” to conclude that there was no “evidence... showing that... applicant was actually restricted in work activity prior to the industrial injury.” (Jt. Ex. C, Report of PQME Zenia Cortes, July 27, 2020, p. 17; Report, p. 5.) But PQME Dr. Cortes opined that applicant “missed work” as a result of her bilateral hands/arms injury (carpal tunnel) in 1997 and her right shoulder injury (rotator cuff) in 2002. (Jt. Ex. A, Report of PQME Zenia Cortes, January 7, 2020, p. 5.)
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.