What the panel ordered
The Appeals Board rescinded the January 14, 2021 Findings, Order and Award and substituted findings that applicant sustained injury to the right index finger in ADJ10594852 resulting in 38% permanent disability, injury to the back in ADJ10882630 resulting in 15% permanent disability, denied defendant's credit for overpayment of temporary disability benefits in ADJ10882630 against permanent disability benefits in ADJ10594852, deferred attorney fees issues, and returned the matter to the trial level for further proceedings.
Defendant sought reconsideration of the Findings, Order and Award issued on January 14, 2021; the WCJ filed a Report and Recommendation to deny the petition; the Appeals Board granted reconsideration and issued a Decision After Reconsideration on April 14, 2025, rescinding the prior F&A and substituting new findings.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The Appeals Board substituted findings that the back injury resulted in 15% permanent disability, payable with jurisdiction reserved to the WCJ for disputes.
From the decision · page 1812. For ADJ10594852, applicant sustained injury to the right index finger resulting in permanent disability of 38%, payable in an amount to be adjusted by the parties, with jurisdiction reserved to the WCJ in the event of dispute. 13. For ADJ10882630, applicant sustained injury to the back resulting in permanent disability of 15%, payable in an amount to be adjusted by the parties, with jurisdiction reserved to the WCJ in the event of dispute. 14. Defendant is not entitled to a credit for overpayment of temporary disability benefits in ADJ10882630 to be applicable against permanent disability benefits owed in ADJ10594852. 15. Applicant requires further medical treatment to cure or relieve the effects of these injuries. 16. The issues of the amount of attorney's fees to which applicant is entitled in ADJ10594852 and ADJ10882630 are deferred.
The WCJ found injury by way of hernia over the period from March 23, 2016 to March 23, 2017, which was not disputed on reconsideration.
The Appeals Board substituted findings that the right index finger injury resulted in 38% permanent disability, payable with jurisdiction reserved to the WCJ for disputes.
From the decision · page 1812. For ADJ10594852, applicant sustained injury to the right index finger resulting in permanent disability of 38%, payable in an amount to be adjusted by the parties, with jurisdiction reserved to the WCJ in the event of dispute. 13. For ADJ10882630, applicant sustained injury to the back resulting in permanent disability of 15%, payable in an amount to be adjusted by the parties, with jurisdiction reserved to the WCJ in the event of dispute. 14. Defendant is not entitled to a credit for overpayment of temporary disability benefits in ADJ10882630 to be applicable against permanent disability benefits owed in ADJ10594852. 15. Applicant requires further medical treatment to cure or relieve the effects of these injuries. 16. The issues of the amount of attorney's fees to which applicant is entitled in ADJ10594852 and ADJ10882630 are deferred.
The Appeals Board found defendant is not entitled to credit for overpayment of temporary disability benefits in ADJ10882630 against permanent disability benefits in ADJ10594852 because the periods do not overlap.
From the decision · page 16Accordingly, we will substitute a finding that defendant is not entitled to a credit for overpayment of temporary disability benefits in ADJ10882630 to be applicable against permanent disability benefits in ADJ10594852.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
The parties stipulated that applicant sustained injury to the back in ADJ10882630 resulting in 15% permanent disability.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This stipulation formed the basis for the Appeals Board's substituted finding on the back injury permanent disability.
From the decision · page 14Hence, because the record demonstrates that the parties stipulated that applicant sustained injury to the back in ADJ10882630 resulting in permanent disability of 15%, and further stipulated that applicant sustained injury to the right index finger in ADJ1059482, we conclude that the WCJ erroneously failed to issue findings in accordance with these stipulations.
The record shows that the right index finger injury in ADJ10594852 resulted in 38% permanent disability.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This fact led the Appeals Board to substitute findings for the right index finger injury permanent disability rating.
From the decision · page 14Additionally, because the record shows that applicant's injury to the right index finger in ADJ1059482 resulted in permanent disability of 38%, we conclude that the WCJ erroneously failed to find that the right finger injury in ADJ1059482 resulted in disability of 38%. (Report, p. 3.)
The period defendant paid temporary disability in ADJ10882630 does not overlap the period for which defendant owes permanent disability in ADJ10594852.
Favours Defendant prevailed
This fact led the Appeals Board to deny defendant's request for credit for overpayment of temporary disability benefits.
From the decision · page 16Accordingly, we will substitute a finding that defendant is not entitled to a credit for overpayment of temporary disability benefits in ADJ10882630 to be applicable against permanent disability benefits in ADJ10594852.
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Found 2% WPI to the MP joint of the middle finger and impairment in the form of grip loss, supporting permanent disability rating.
The WCJ relied on Dr. Harris's September 22, 2016 report as substantial medical evidence for permanent disability rating.
From the decision · page 2Defendant contends that the WCJ erroneously (1) found that QME Dr. Harris's September 22, 2016 reporting that applicant sustained 2% WPI to the MP joint of the middle finger and impairment in the form of grip loss constitutes substantial medical evidence; (2) awarded applicant permanent disability benefits based upon QME Dr. Harris's reporting instead of relying upon PTP Yung's December 7, 2015 reporting that applicant sustained no permanent disability; and (3) combined QME Dr. Harris's rating in ADJ10594852 with QME Fisher's rating in ADJ10882630.
Reported no permanent disability on December 7, 2015.
The WCJ did not rely on Dr. Yung's report that found no permanent disability, instead relying on Dr. Harris's report.
From the decision · page 2Defendant contends that the WCJ erroneously (1) found that QME Dr. Harris's September 22, 2016 reporting that applicant sustained 2% WPI to the MP joint of the middle finger and impairment in the form of grip loss constitutes substantial medical evidence; (2) awarded applicant permanent disability benefits based upon QME Dr. Harris's reporting instead of relying upon PTP Yung's December 7, 2015 reporting that applicant sustained no permanent disability; and (3) combined QME Dr. Harris's rating in ADJ10594852 with QME Fisher's rating in ADJ10882630.
Stipulated permanent disability rating of 15% for back injury in ADJ10882630.
The parties stipulated to Dr. Fisher's 15% permanent disability rating for the back injury, which the Appeals Board adopted.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
Escobedo v. Marshalls (2005) 70 Cal.Comp.Cases 604, 621 (Appeals Board en banc)
Medical opinion must be framed in terms of reasonable medical probability, based on pertinent facts, adequate examination and history, and set forth reasoning in support of conclusions to constitute substantial evidence.
The WCJ's reliance on Dr. Harris's report was found to meet this standard and constitute substantial evidence.
From the decision · page 12Appeals Bd. (Bolton) (1983) 34 Cal.3d 159 [48 Cal.Comp.Cases 566].) To constitute substantial evidence "... a medical opinion must be framed in terms of reasonable medical probability, it must not be speculative, it must be based on pertinent facts and on an adequate examination and history, and it must set forth reasoning in support of its conclusions." (Escobedo v. Marshalls (2005) 70 Cal.Comp.Cases 604, 621 (Appeals Board en banc).) "Medical reports and opinions are not substantial evidence if they are known to be erroneous, or if they are based on facts no longer germane, on inadequate medical histories and examinations, or on incorrect legal theories. Medical opinion also fails to support the Board's findings if it is based on surmise, speculation, conjecture or guess." (Hegglin v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. (1971) 4 Cal.3d 162, 169 [93 Cal. Rptr. 15, 480 P.2d 967, 36 Cal.Comp.Cases 93, 97].)
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
The WCJ found Dr. Harris's medical opinion to be substantial evidence based on his adequate examination, history, and objective findings such as grip strength loss.
From the decision · page 8He documents a scar on the right index finger, a negative Tinel's (sign) and no signs of infection. He documents no localized tenderness over the MP, PIP, and DIP joints.[fn] The joints had full range of motion. There was intact function and sensation in the finger. For the right middle digit, he documents soft tissue thickening over the MP joint with diffuse tenderness to palpation over the MP joint, along with pain with stressing, but no instability. He documents the amount of motion in the MP, PIP, and DIP joints. He states there is intact function and normal sensation. He documents examination of the right wrist and right hand. He documents biceps and forearm measurements and grip strength. This documents an adequate examination. Dr. Harris then lists the nine reports in his medical record review.[fn] This documents an adequate history. Dr. Harris then gives his diagnosis, opinion on causation, apportionment, impairment, and future medical care. These paragraphs document a solid underlying basis for the opinion. (Report, pp. 2-3.)
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.